Skip to content

Stryper

May 2, 2010

I have heard of Stryper many time yet never heard any of their songs. I was at a friends and he was shocked I had not heard of anything especially their big stuff. But now I have. Its rock how I like it. I can relate to the beat and such.



Now listening to the sound I was amazed that a christian band sounded like this. Then I was amazed even more with the lyrics. It just blended together. It was mainstream and it was christian at the same time. A very rare feat especially in today’s media frenzy.

As I hope to dig more into the lyrics from many of their songs I am hoping they are gospel centered and not just glam rock or anything like that. Now in this video “Calling on you” it reminds me of my own struggles in prayer where I know that I am in need of calling upon him. It is his life and not mine after all.

I guess it’s gonna take me some time now as I was also introduced to Steven Taylor who’s lyrics are some definite though provokers. It’s just wonderful to see the messed up folks we are to make music and provoke thoughts and emotions unto the Lord.

No comments yet

Leave a comment